and it came right because of a ‘donation’!


When I write of my own personal dislike of transplant techniques, and organ donations etc. I am often accused of being heartless, of lacking in human decency, along with all the other turgid attempts to insult me. But I don’t care at all, and I am not at all bothered by the verbal diarrhoea flung in my general direction, mainly because I know I am in the right. I know. for example, of the huge pressures placed on relatives of the dying, the intolerable pressure of hearing, again and again ‘without this organ, or that body part, this young man/young woman may die, or live for only a short time’, all the time placing agonising choices on the families of those whose lives have been cut short for whatever reason; to allow the transplant vultures to ‘Harvest’ the selected organs or tissue, because that is the term which is used, because the only type of organ which is suitable for transplant is from another’s living body!

When I was a young man, my 16 year-old sister died of a terrible disease named Leukaemia, or blood cancer. From being a vibrant teenager, she collapsed into a pale shadow of herself, and died within months of her diagnosis. Some twenty years later, a technique was developed, after long research, to implant bone marrow from a matching donor, which would virtually remove leukaemia from the list of killer diseases. With this process, I have no problems, apart from the fact that the process can be extremely painful for the donor; but, and it is a large but, the donor eventually gets up and walks away.

Which is why I write that this procedure should have been prevented,  the donor was too young to give his approval, because he was only ten months old!

 

Leave a Reply

