and on the Seventh Day, He rested.


My fans (all three of them) will testify to the fact that I am no great admirer of Unions, apart, of course, from my own marriage.  The Unions to which I refer are of course the Labour Unions, still going strong in the areas which protect them, such as Transport, Civil and Council Service, some of the Utility providers, such as Gas, Water & Electricity, have a fair Union representation. Apart from the Public Services, which are still strong supporters of the ‘Union’ philosophy and way of thinking, Unions hardly impact the vast majority of British workers. I detest the ‘uniformity’ demanded of Unionised staff, and it is, without doubt, the nearest thing to the Orwellian ‘Groupthink’ yet discovered. If you can’t speak up for yourself, if you cannot decide whether to negotiate your rate of pay before you commence working, or if you, as an Individual, are unhappy with some aspect of your working life, and cannot sort it by yourself; you may wish to shelter under the Union ‘umbrella’, but I believe that that is an abdication of personal responsibility.

However, not everything espoused by Unions are bad, or destructive. Unions have supported the stance that Sunday should be a day of rest for everyone for many years, and, although I myself have been divorced from any sort of organised religion for a number of years, I applaud the stance which states ‘Keep the Sabbath holy’, for every worker needs at least one day away from the grind, a day to rest, to unwind, to meet, know and grow with their families. When I needed a crew, or a whole project, to work on a Sunday, because of emergency or urgent need, I always ensured that the workforce received double time for all Sunday work. because I was asking them to leave their families, or their leisure, on a day when they should have been resting, and an increase in pay was the least I could do.


So when I read of the giant UK Retailer Next stating that Sunday was regarded as ‘just another day’, or otherwise a ‘normal working day’, I believe that British people should boycott indefinitely this moronic bunch of petty bullying pirates, who think they can treat their staff anyway they can, primarily because jobs are scarce, and anyone who states that they will not work on a Sunday can consider themselves redundant. True, the Sunday Trading Act does not refer in any way to a premium pay because of Sunday itself, but there is a silent duty upon employers which states, in no uncertain terms, “You know what is right, so do it!”

Leave a Reply

