Just blow into the mouthpiece, Sir.


Apart from, and after one fantastically stupid and, after the fact, totally terrifying action, I have never driven a car with more than one small glass of wine in my body over the previous twenty-four hours. I shall not go into all the lurid details, but suffice to say, after driving at somewhere around 90 m.p.h. at two in the morning; on the WRONG side of a dual carriageway highway, with my car crammed with giggling drunks, just as bad or worse than I was, for a distance of some fifteen miles: when I woke in the morning, and remembered what I had done, I literally broke out in a cold sweat. I honestly believed, during that mad episode, that I was invincible, that my reactions and driving were actually enhanced: I had no inhibitions at all! I delivered all my drunken mates to their homes, then parked my own car neatly in the driveway, and went to sleep in my bed.
Which is why I feel strongly that the blood-alcohol limit for British air-line and commercial pilots, test to be taken the morning of their scheduled flight, should in fact be as near to zero as possible. Any alcohol inhibits and slows your reactions, and, whilst the test limit for British drivers is 80mg/100mL I have long maintained that this is still far too high, but while the average driver is maybe responsible for three or four lives other than his, the average airline pilot takes off with maybe two hundred lives on board: and I wish to be reassured that the bloke is stone-cold sober before he takes the controls of a jet with me on board.

This is just me talking out loud, but I have lost good friends through booze mixed with speed, and also lost relatives through constant use of heavy booze, so I am maybe a little biased; but, if I can do without drinking and driving voluntarily, why can’t everyone else, accepting that everyone reacts differently; but based purely upon the statistical, as well as the medical evidence?

Leave a Reply

